Team 12:12

Behind every Race for the Cure Team, there’s a story. We’re excited to share these stories as we prepare for the Komen Columbus Race on May 20.

stephanie-kesselringMeet Team 12:12

When I was diagnosed in April 2014, it came as a complete shock! I was only 36, a single mom to a 9 year old girl. My family and I are very close and when my Uncle found out, he prayed, a lot. He asked God for guidance and help. God laid upon his heart a bible verse, Romans 12:12, which reads, “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, and steadfast in prayer.”

We did just that. He posted everyday on Facebook 12:12 to remind everyone to pray for me. It became our family’s mantra. This verse has become a guideline for us in everything we do. You can’t always control what happens, however, you can control how you react, your attitude, and overall outlook.

I have the cancer gene and it is very likely that my daughter will face this horrible disease as well. I’d love to be a part of this solution for her, and all daughters.

I’m so excited to participate in this wonderful event.

Stephanie Kesselring

Join Team 12:12 for the Komen Columbus Race for the Cure on Saturday, May 20. Register and begin fundraising today.

 

