Meet the Staff at Komen Columbus: Kathryn Stephens

What events /people or experience led you here to Susan G. Komen Columbus?

I met Katie Carter 9 years ago and we became fast friends. It was incredible to watch the race grow under her leadership and to hear of all of the good work that was happening within the Komen-Columbus organization. Since our meeting, I have a friend who has battled and beaten breast cancer, a friend who lost the fight and, currently, my mother’s best friend is in treatment. There is work to be done.

What do you do for Komen Columbus? How does your role help with Komen’s mission?

I am the Director of Philanthropy. I ensure that we have all of the resources we need to save women’s lives.

What or whom inspires you to come to work every day?

Every morning when I walk in the door, I feel this incredible responsibility to save lives. That is why I am here. I am not a superhero, nor a physician, nor a surgeon but I assure you that I take this as seriously as those in the healthcare system – the work we do strengthens our healthcare systems, our physicans, our surgeons, our nurses, our navigators. We are a vital piece of the community collaboration to keep our women and men healthy.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

Our grant review process and committee. ABSOLUTELY MIND-BLOWING! We had a round table of 30 reviewers, our Board was in attendance and our staff. To hear the reviewers engage and discuss the programming that we crafted to ensure quality care, access to care, navigation of the healthcare system, navigation of how to use your insurance once diagnosed…. I could go on …. It was incredible!

When you’re not working,w hat do you like to do?

I love to do anything outdoors! I love to run, hit the gym, sing A LOT and spend precious time with my family.

What’s your favorite quote? And why?

“What is a friend? A single soul dwelling in two bodies.” -Aristotle I am blessed to have really, incredible friends and this quote sums up how I feel about them. Life is so good with great friends!

To meet the other Komen Columbus staff members, click here. Learn more about Komen Columbus by visiting our website, Facebook and Twitter Pages.

