Team Shaneka Solis

Behind every Race for the Cure Team, there’s a story. We’re excited to share these stories as we prepare to celebrate our 25th Komen Columbus Race on May 20.

Meet Team Shaneka Solis, led by their team captain, Stephanie Solis. 

“I started volunteering witOur team message these past 5 years has been about self-awareness. Breast cancer does not discriminate so we encourage you to know your body, do self-breast exams and get your annual mammogram! “Early Detection is th.pngh Komen Columbus in 2008. First with registration and now I have serve as the First Aid Booth Coordinator since 2010. However, my passion for this cause took on a whole new meaning when my sister was diagnosed in 2011 at the age of 32. It came as a total shock because we have no family history of breast cancer. Sadly, my sister died just one year after diagnosis. For the past five years, I’ve organized a team in her memory. Each year more than 100 family and friends gather to race in her memory!

The Race for the Cure is filled with so much excitement. The start line is always a bittersweet moment for my team. I love seeing the different teams surrounding us, along with survivors and their friends and families, but I am always reminded of why I am there and how much I miss my sister.

Our team message these past 5 years has been about self-awareness. Breast cancer does not discriminate so we encourage you to know your body, do self-breast exams and get your annual mammogram! ‘Early Detection is the Best Protection.’

Rally together your team and register for the May 20 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure.

