Meet the Staff at Komen Columbus: Megan Montville

1.)  What events/people or experiences led you here to Komen Columbus?

My mom, Diane Montville, lost her battle to breast cancer in 2014. She had battled the disease four times throughout her life, but always had a selfless and humble attitude. I began volunteer for Komen Northeast Ohio in 2003 when I was nine years old. My mom instilled her characteristics within me while I was able to volunteer alongside her for 11 wonderful years with Komen, and I attribute my passion for Komen to her.

2011Mom

I was a sophomore at The Ohio State University when my mom passed away, and I knew I had to do more than just volunteer. I was lucky enough to intern for Komen Columbus while in college and feel my internship opened my eyes to exactly what I want to do in life.

Since my mom was unable to see the day a cure will be found, I continue her legacy in the fight against breast cancer and her passion for helping others. I have helped raise more than $14,000 for Susan G. Komen since my mom lost her battle, and I know my journey with Komen is just beginning.

2.) What do you do for Komen Columbus? How does your role help with Komen’s mission?

I am the Events Coordinator and I assist with all affiliate and special events within Komen Columbus. My role helps Komen’s mission by diversifying and expanding community participation and fundraising strategies for special events that in the end saves lives right here in Central Ohio.

2013Race3.) What (or whom) inspires you come to work every day?

I work with some of the most passionate, intelligent, kind-hearted women I have ever met and they make my job not feel like work. I feel lucky to work alongside them every day and am always inspired.

4.) What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

The most memorable moment I’ve had with Komen Columbus so far was at the 2016 Columbus Race. I started full-time on a Monday and the Race was that Saturday. I saw hours of endless preparation for the Race and was surrounded by so much passion that week. It was amazing to see it all come together!

5.) When you’re not working, what do you like to do?

When I’m not working, I enjoy crafting, traveling and exploring new places. I also love visiting my family and catching up with my three brothers.

6.) What’s your favorite quote? Why does this quote “speak” to you?

My favorite quote, “pole, pole” is Swahili for slowly, slowly. I spent May of 2015 volunteering in Tanzania, Africa and had the time of my life. After volunteering on Zanzibar Island, I climbed Mount Kilimanjaro. This quote was used constantly, reminding us to take the climb slowly and not rush to the top. Because of this persistent reminder, we saved energy, saw the most beautiful ecosystems and truly got the views of a lifetime. I now try to tell myself this every day as a reminder to enjoy every part of life and not rush through it.

