Meet the Staff: Lauren Beitel

What events/people or experiences led you here to Komen Columbus?

Lauren-famWhen I was in college at Otterbein University, my cousin Brittany was diagnosed with breast cancer when she was just 26. We did not have any family history of breast cancer and it shook us that someone so young could be affected by cancer. As I watched her journey, it touched me. Watching someone go through cancer, but still have such an amazing, positive outlook on life was and is still inspiring. Once I moved from Traverse City, Michigan, back to Columbus to find a job, I was sent the “Mission Programs Manager” job description. I instantly jumped on it. After talking to Brittany about her experiences as an honorary chair in 2016 and all of the amazing things she had to say about the ladies that work at the Columbus Affiliate, I knew this is where I wanted to be. I am grateful for where I am and excited to see how Komen Columbus continues to grow.

What do you do for Komen Columbus? How does your role help with Komen’s mission?

Lauren-brittanyI am the Mission Programs Manager for Komen Columbus. My role supports Komen Columbus’ grant-making process and helps to grow Komen Columbus’ Community Health Programs.

What (or whom) inspires you come to work every day?

My family inspires me to come to work every day. Growing up in a hardworking, motivating family has made me who I am today. Along with myself, they push me to become the best person I can become no matter the task or the day.

What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

The most memorable moment I have had so far with Komen Columbus was being at the finish line at the 2017 Race for the Cure. Seeing survivors cross the finish line was remarkable. You would see all ranges of survivors from 2 months, 1 year, 3 years, 15 years. It brought tears to my eyes watching this unfold in front of me. It showed what Susan G. Komen does, which is making a difference and SAVING LIVES!

When you’re not working, what do you like to do?

Lauren-AnnieWhen I am not working, a couple of my favorite things to do are to be outdoors and be with my family and friends. I love going on adventures and being out in nature. From hiking, boating, fishing, adventuring to new places I have never been. As well as playing with my 2 year old Yellow Lab, Annie, who tags along on all my adventures.

What’s your favorite quote? Why does this quote “speak” to you?

I have a lot of quotes I live by, but one of my favorites is “Success is a series of small wins.” This quote speaks for its self but I love it because so many people are worried about the big win in life and forget to celebrate the small ones. This quote also reflects on a saying my dad always told us when we were younger: “Remember to always celebrate the small wins. It may not be a grand slam or a home run but it’s still worth celebrating.”  

 

 

