Meet the Staff: Intern Lindsey Jones

1.)  What events/people or experiences led you here to Komen Columbus?

To be honest, I was in the right place at the right time when I got my internship with Komen. A former intern was leaving and a replacement was needed. Seeing as I always had an interest in non-profit work, I was very interested in the position. On top of that, my double major in public relations and journalism makes me very interested in planning, writing and communicating with others so this internship was the perfect fit for me.

Lindsey-22.) What do you do for Komen Columbus?

As a marketing and communications intern, I help a lot with social media. I schedule posts for Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and sometimes make graphics to accompany the posts. I also engage with our followers on our channels and observe trends to see how we can get a larger following. I love what I’ve gotten the opportunity to do at Komen and am very lucky to have such kind, dedicated and passionate supervisors to turn to as well as having such a great cause to support.

3.) What (or whom) inspires you come to work every day?

When I was in high school one of my best friends mother’s lost her fight to cancer very suddenly. Combining that hard experience with my compassionate personality, I can’t fathom not having someone in my family around because of cancer. When I saw thousands of strong people at the Race, I was even more inspired to educate and promote everything I can so that one day breast cancer will be nonexistent.

4.) What is the most memorable moment or event you’ve experienced with Komen Columbus? And why?

Lindsey-FamilyThis past May I experienced my first Race For The Cure. It was one of the most rewarding experiences that I’ve had in my life. The day was filled with so much emotion, love and support. Thinking about a specific moment between all of the hugs and tears, I remember standing near the finish line and seeing a young dad pushing his little girl in a stroller. On her shirt she had a picture of her mom that they were racing in memory of. At that moment, with tears streaming down my face, thoughts of all of the priceless memories that I’ve made with my mom growing up flashed before me and the idea that that little girl won’t have the same chance devastated me. From there I became even more passionate to work with the dedicated people at Komen to educate others about breast cancer, raise money and awareness and one day see it end so that the time little girls and boys can make memories with their mommies won’t get cut short.

5.) When you’re not interning, what do you like to do?

Lindsey-1At Otterbein University I’m a member of the Cross Country and Track teams, so that being said,  I am running a lot. Other than that, I enjoy being around my family and friends as much as possible.

6.) What are your plans for next year? What are your goals for the future?

If possible I would love to continue to intern and eventually work for Komen one day. As a Northeast Ohio native, a goal I have is to obtain a position with the Komen affiliate in Cleveland following graduation where I can take what I’ve learned from Komen Columbus and apply it to my future career endeavors. I love planning and organizing so helping out to promote future races and events would be something I know I would be passionate about doing. Being able to see how what I do directly impacts others is so rewarding which makes me look forward to coming to work everyday.

 

